• African-American Graveyard

    Squire

    By state law, people of African ancestry had to worship and be buried apart from people of European ancestry. The little African-American Graveyard in front of St. Philips Church was neglected, but has been restored to its simple dignity. A few original stones remain: Squire, above, had a stone just like the ones in God’s Acre, because, African or European, slave or free, all are equal in death. Most of the unmarked graves have now been marked with square flat stones in the Moravian manner.

    Stone marked “Adult”
  • 253–245 West Fourth Street

    253–245 West Fourth Street

    An extraordinarily broad arch surrounded by marble (which might have been a later remodeling) is the most distinctive feature of this building. Upstairs looks like a fine place for a small ballroom.

  • Dale H. Gramley Dormitory

    Dale H. Gramley Dormitory

    Built in 1965 as a dormitory for Salem College, this building was carefully matched to the surrounding Old Salem architecture. Compare, for example, the Single Sisters’ House.

  • Pepper Building

    Terra Cotta on the Pepper Building

    Tobacco leaves are a prominent feature in the Art Deco ornaments on the Pepper Building, built as a department store in 1928. The architects were Winston-Salem’s stars Northup & O’Brien. It is now a Hotel Indigo.

    Pepper Building
    Terra cotta on the Pepper Building
    Terra cotta
    Bracket
    Pepper Building
    Fourth Street side
    Back of the Pepper Building

    The back of the building was once partly covered by another building demolished years ago. It looks as though another building will finally replace the demolished one. Meanwhile, the painted “PEPPER BUILDING” sign is still visible on the back; part of the one on the side was obscured by what appears to be a new structure for elevators.


    Comments
  • Fourth House and Fifth House

    Fourth House

    Two of the oldest houses in Old Salem, built in 1768.

    Fifth House